III. Welcome To The Club

CHAPTER THREE

I entered a big hall at unsteady walk and saw five people sitting in a circle. Their countenances were empathic, but when they noticed me, they began to scrutinize me with an interest. One chair was free, obviously for me, and I sat down immediately, hoping to avoid the piercing gazes of the strangers.

“Sorry I’m late. Are we waiting for someone else?” I asked, looking at my bewildered club mates.

“Are you our mentor?” asked an Asian woman with short haircut.

“Actually I’m a failure.” I sighed, crossing my hands upon my knees.

A tall slim man in a grey suit stood up and started walking quickly outside the circle, starring at his wristwatch. Maybe, he had overwrought nerves and needed a way to calm down.

“It’s ridiculous. There should be someone who’s gathered us here. I’m not going to waste my time, if we’re on our own. Is it a stupid joke? Perhaps, we should look for a hidden camera.”

A red-haired overweighed man looked down and noticed a paper under his chair. He bent down to take it.

“There is a note down here. Introduce yourselves!”

“Introduce yourselves.” I said it again out loud. A man in a suit stopped walking and fall down on his chair.

“I don’t feel good about it!” he mumbled.

Another young woman with hazel wavy hair shuddered, looking at the note.

“Me too. What if they are swindlers?” she asked, her voice trembling.

I smiled to her and shook my head.

“I don’t think so. It makes no sense. They looked for people who suffered from extremely misery, who found themselves in a dead end. Can they take something from us? Nothing.

“We should follow the instructions. They want us to introduce ourselves.” reminded an Asian woman.

I nodded absently.

“That’s something. Who wants to start?”

A middle-aged man in a wheel chair lifted his hand.

“May I begin?”

Everybody concentrated attention upon him.

“Hi! My name is David. I’m here, because my life went wrong. I’m a prisoner of my condition and don’t know how to break free, because I feel deficient. I hope this club will help me to overcome my fears and to find the right place in this world. Now, looking at you, I understand I’m not lonely anymore.”

I applauded. Everybody applauded. There was so much hope in his voice. My problems seemed so miserable to me.

A young curly-haired woman started to speak.

“Hello, I’m Kate. Do you want to know what’s wrong with me? Why am I here? At first sight it seems I am normal. But it’s not true. I have many fears. It’s not like you’re afraid of darkness, height or spiders. I’m afraid of everything that surrounds me – people, objects, sounds. To tell the truth this room and your faces scare the hell out of me. I’m here, because I want to be invincible. I don’t want to be afraid anymore.”

We applauded.

3 thoughts on “III. Welcome To The Club

  1. You have some odd spellings which create new usages for words. If that’s intentional, I would not change it.

    Also, you leave out indefinite articles at time which gives it a Latinized style. Once again, if you intended that method, I would not ‘correct’ it, as that means changing your personal style and hence the mood of what you are conveying.

    Only the most repulsively, vapid, stupid literary critics focus on spelling or verb tenses (see Jacques Brel for examples of playing with words to convey mood or emotional context), instead of focusing on the expression and the story.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

