I. Before The Silence

CHAPTER ONE

It was an audition day, which was supposed to change my life completely. I expected something big and inevitable to happen that would color my drab time and make me feel different. I thought about the chain of events, spontaneous and hazardous, led me to the door of one of the biggest orchestras in New York. It was uneasy to leave everything behind to rush at a breakneck pace towards my dream, but I did it.

There was some time left before an arrival of the taxicab, so I decided to practice one more time. I took my trumpet very carefully and felt immediately a great strength as if I had a powerful sword in my hand to fight for my future. Then I lifted it above my head, concentrating on a soothing melody, flowing into my mind. I didn’t hear the music, but I felt it with every part of my body as if it had some kind of inexplicable energy penetrating into my heart and making it beat extremely fast. Then I began to play. My lungs were full of air changing into pleasant sounds and spreading around my house, filling it with the most sincere song in the whole world. This music always lived inside me and I resisted it my whole life, running after the things that could never make me happy.

After playing, I put on my best suit and wound a dark blue bow-tie around my neck, polished my shoes and styled my hair in a proper way. In a mirror on the wall a delightful face of a stranger gave me a look of admiration. I was ready to start a new life. I didn’t know what I was destined to, but I knew for sure it was the right choice to make.

At 2 p.m. I found myself in a light corridor together with more than one hundred candidates sitting and waiting to be auditioned. The predominant feature of the place was the numerous pictures of musical instruments on the walls that made the special atmosphere of relaxation and enjoyment. Without any doubts it was the best place for me to stay. Maybe, one day my trumpet would be hanged here as a symbol of my dream and future successes.

All of the people had various musical instruments. There were violins, double-basses, cellos, clarinets, flutes, trombones, harps and many others in the hall. It was the biggest orchestra recruitment in the whole New York and also it was a chance for me to become a real musician.

I was overwhelmed with excitement at the thought of what was to come next. I didn’t worry, because, I was sure in myself as I’d never been sure before. My self-confidence grew every time I imagined my triumph. I spun around, looking at the frowned and intense faces of my opponents.

“Hello, number one hundred and six.” said a short man in a red uniform. “You need to fill in this form.”

He handed me a blank form and I put down my name, age and gave the answers to some questions concerning my previous experience in the orchestra and my personal musical achievements. To tell the truth, I’d never been playing in the orchestra before and had no significant achievements in the world of music except I learned to play the trumpet on my own when I was ten-years-old. Since that time I considered it to be not only my passion but my true vocation.  But for some reason, I spent the half of my life pursuing the false goal imposed on me by my parents.  I was financial analyst and there were only numbers in my head.

9 thoughts on “I. Before The Silence

  1. i failed to notice the other pages at first. just made it all the way through. it is a very gripping chapter. my favorite line is “I don’t want to live my life as if it has no ending”. there is so much truth to this line. keep it up!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Remember that I am America’s Most Feared Literary Critic, so I will only cover what I like.

    You use very thick, heavy, complex sentences combined with odd verb tenses almost turning the verbs into adverbs. It seems to be ‘universal’ English syntax, neither British nor American.

    It’s a hint of Emily Dickinson, as you create your own rhythm and syntax. I actually would not change this style if I were/was you.

    Your success will come from writing in your own style. Never follow convention, that is derivative dullards writing. I like that you write in your own form of expression. I will read on.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you very much for your comments, they are very important for me. I still have to learn a lot of things and I’ll do it. I had doubts about the style, but you gave me a boost to keep on writing in such a way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

